Condemned 2 Impressions

I was a fan of the original Condemned title. I wasn’t hardcore like some people who have went through the story multiple times, but I liked it. The title messed with your mind in different ways and it was a refreshing gaming experience back in 2005.

Fast forward to 2008 and we have the sequel to Condemned released as Condemned 2:Bloodshot. One of my worries was how could Monolith top the psychological scares of the original without seeming too cheesy or flat. I’ve played about halfway and yes the game has a scary vibe when it comes to the atmosphere but for reason i’m not feeling the same way I did with the original.

Sure, the graphics look good and the violence is brutal but to me the game just feels short of the original’s glory. For example, if you remember the mission in the original game which took place in the mall, that was scary! Condemned 2 tries to recreate the scares with a doll factory mission(scary music included) but it just doesn’t get the job done. Currently, I’m at a part where the psychological scares have manifested into reality and the game just doesn’t feel creepy anymore.

Maybe, later on in the game Condemned 2 will pull a fast one with a creepy level or scare but right now i’m just feeling a bit underwhelmed. As for the Multiplayer I haven’t tried it yet so I cannot speak on that.

-Michael “Thrills Killa” Pacheco-

5 Responses

  1. I don’t know, personally I disagree. I’ve been to those same areas and I got completely different feelings from them. I particularly liked the last area you’re referring to (with the CAT scan?) and thought it was done extremely well.

    Honestly, I think this one is better than the last in every conceivable way. It looks better, it plays better, the detective stuff is worked in more intuitively, it doesn’t drag on as badly as you near the end, etc.

    But I mean, these are just my opinions. I guess everyone will get something different out of it. If nothing else, this team has got down perfecting the first person view. Never in this game do you feel like a floating camera.

  2. Played the game at a friends house and thought it was pretty good. Favorite part in the game so far is

    *SPOILER*

    Getting chased by the bear through the old shack, running into a room thinking your safe only to have the bear fly through the wall and kill you.

  3. Great game, finished it earlier this week. Much better than the first one. The Multiplayer is must play as well but make sure you play Crime Scene, that’s the game’s trademark mode. It’s alot of fun.

  4. not the first time i’ve heard people say it somehow missed the old glory of the first…i’ll rent it to check it out.

  5. I need just the right environment before I can sit and play C2B.

Leave a Reply

