Is Sonic Unleashed for real?

It been known for quite some time now that the Sonic franchise hasn’t been exactly on a graceful path as of lets say, this century. The last installment ( not the Wii or DS releases) that was heralded as the return of Sonic a little over a year ago was less than stellar for sure. Riddled with bugs, questionable controls, and a camera system that spasmed more times than Muhammad Ali ever has. To say gamers where disappointed would be calling it lightly.

Now, lets forget about all of that (if you can). The next game in the franchise tentaively titled Sonic Unleashed has come to the forefront. Is it really the next game or just a phantom? Well, it appears to be really be happening as seen by these screens and these screens, that are said to have come from a Sega ftp site. Okay, then what? After a little bit more of looking into this, the following video appeared. Old time fans should definitely note that it’s back to its 2D(and a 1/2) roots finally.

Do you still care about the Sonic Franchise for this to even matter?

-William “thewilleffect” Bell-

10 Responses

  1. I think the last sonic game was painful enough.
    It could be good though.

  2. I’ll look forward to it, I chose sides as a kid and the side I chose was Sega. Sonic is what I grew up with.

  3. i shall stay with sonic no matter what.
    first game ever=Sonic the Hedgehog 2

  4. Although my first game wasn’t Sonic like Shadow’s, I take Sonic over Mario just about anyday. This game = Must buy.

  5. I was a huge Mario fan until I saw Sonic on the Genesis(Mega Drive). I quickly dropped Mario by the curb and took Sonic out for a drive and almost never looked back. Genesis does what Nintendon’t. 🙂 Those where the times.

  6. […] Is Sonic Unleashed for real? It been known for quite some time now that the Sonic franchise hasn’t been exactly on a graceful path as of lets say, this century. The last installment ( not the Wii or DS releases) that was heralded as the return of Sonic a little over a year ago was less than stellar for sure. Riddled with … […]

  7. I never owned a sega, but back in the day, my friend did, and all we did was play sonic. I only like the old school ones, none of the new ones. I still take my boy mario over sonic anyday.

  8. I must be the only person who likes both. o.O

    Anyways, you won’t see me paying full price for a Sonic game until I hear much praise from others, as the last bunch have been steaming piles.

  9. They should just do a straight port of the first sonic with updated graphics and different backgrounds. All this 3d crap isnt what sonic is.

  10. RoastedVeggies: I thought the exact same thing when I first saw Bionic Commando Rearmed. Then again, I think I’d prefer Sonic 2. 1 wouldn’t disappoint though.

Leave a Reply

