Microsoft Killing off HD-DVD

blu-ray-hd-dvd-foot.gif

It was just announced that Microsoft is no longer supporting the HD-DVD format which means Blue-Ray has officially won the format war in fanboy terms. This spells bad news for people who bought the HD-DVD drive for the 360 along with all the hd-dvd collecting any of you might’ve started building up in its small library. Here is the quote straight from the house.

As a result of recent decisions made by Toshiba, Hollywood studios, and retailers, Microsoft plans to withdraw from HD DVD. Xbox will no longer manufacture new HD DVD players for the Xbox 360, but we will continue to provide standard product and warranty support for all Xbox 360 HD DVD Players in the market. As we stated earlier, we do not believe this decision will have any material impact on the Xbox 360 platform or our position in the marketplace. HD DVD is one of the several ways we offer a high definition experience to consumers and we will continue to give consumers the choice to enjoy digital distribution of high definition movies and TV shows directly to their living room, along with playback of the DVD movies they already own.

So, what do you guys plan to do with your collection? Sounds like a bonfire is in order to me.

[Via Evil Avatar]

Jereme “Restless Devil” Puik

8 Responses

  1. I can’t wait until the HD add-on drops to $40 or less with the free movie offers. As I see it, if I can grab 5 free movies for $40 that is $8 a movie with a free player, that is still a good HD player for those few movies. Then if and when the HD-DVD’s have the huge fire sales I’m hoping for I can grab some great titles for under $5.

  2. DVD is still #1 for me.

  3. Kmart – HD-DVD 360 addon, 49.99 USD + Tax, w/King Kong in the box, and you can mail in for 5 free IF you buy before the 28th. I just bought one, mailing in rebate tomorrow.

  4. addon @ 50$ is decent amount …In my country prices for game consoles are just insane.

    I have not seen 1 guys owning a x-box or play station around

  5. I bought Vaporware! NOOOO 🙂

  6. Heh thrills. atleast you can buy HD-DVDs DIRRT cheap right now.

  7. I got a Blu-ray / HD-DVD combo drive for my HTPC for $250 so I’m pretty set one way or another.

  8. Thrills: Doubly NOOOO! I didn’t buy the player, but I was this close to several times. Someone had to lose, only this time Sony can swing its e-penis wildly saying “We told you so”, as they finish slipping the money under the table to Warner.

Leave a Reply

