Having Problems with Mass Effect? Clear the cache or take it back

Some gamers have been experiencing Mass Effect’s defects. It seems that some copies of Mass Effect have been displaying disc unreadable errors and random crashes. Tayce Wilson who does Quality Assurance for Bioware posted a couple of things you can do.

First, you can clear the cache. If problems persist you should get your copy exchanged with a new one or if things get really hectic you can contact Microsoft’s/Bioware’s support center.

Has anyone here been experiencing “massively defective” copies of Mass Effect?

[Via Bioware’s Forums]

Thanks Jeff!

-Michael “Thrills Killa” Pacheco-

6 Responses

  1. Mine works, so do the ones my friends have. That’s about all I can say about it lol.

  2. I ended up taking my first copy of ME back due to the disc reading error and recieved a new copy, since playing my new copy, it has been freezing and crashing like mad…i was sure it wasn’t the x-box since all my other games worked great! but now…i was playing ME and my xbox crashed 3 times in a row and now i’m recieving the 3 Red Lights. Why would the game be released when it is bugged and ruining people 360s?

  3. i havent gotten any disc unreadables under my 11 hours of gaming. but it is lagging in combat, but when i cleared the cache it fixed that.

  4. I posted this fix in the Mass Effect forums on Bioware’s site…check your disc for any small scratches/scuffs. These can be buffed out, but you have to do so vigorously. This worked when I experienced the DRE error and has worked for a few others…note that you should look really closely at the disc under good lighting.

  5. it happened to me on day of release and ever since but i just thought it was my xbox.

    and now it is finally refusing to play.

  6. i am not sure if what i am experiencing with the game are problems, but when i load the game it takes some time for the surroundings to become detailed, and when i stop to talk to people sometimes it takes a second for them to become more detailed, is there a solution to this problem or is my xbox 360 messed up? and how do you clear the cache?

Leave a Reply

