Jeff Minter throws a hissyfit over Space Giraffe’s lackluster sales, Frogger

Jeff Minter, Creator of the very trippy XBLA game Space Giraffe(which I liked BTW ) has gone all apeshit on his blog. Jeff goes on a rant about how Frogger has outsold Space Giraffe plus how gamers love OLD games.

not seeing a lot of reason to continue even trying to make games, at this point, when a remake of Frogger, one of the worst games in the history of old arcade games, can outsell Space Giraffe that we put so much love and effort into, by more than ten to one, in one week.

OK, we get the message. All you want on that channel is remakes of old, shite arcade games and crap you vaguely remember playing on your Amiga.

We’ll shut up trying to do anything new then.

Sorry for even trying.

How does Jeff sound? Stubborn? maybe a bit childish? How about Frustrated?. Its Ok Jeff, people do like your game…. right?

[Via Destructoid]

-Michael “Thrills Killa” Pacheco-

13 Responses

  1. how about making a game that people enjoy? space giraffe wasn’t good. i’m sorry.

    it made no sense and only a handful of people either stoned or otherwise colorbling would appreciate it i think.

    the game made zero sense man.

  2. ya, i felt the game was a complete borefest….i infact did have alot more fun playin fogger than i ever did playin that “shite” arcade game u made

  3. Space Giraffe sucked. I bought it and regret it. I want my points back. All you did in the game is move left/right every so often. Its not fun. Make GOOD games for sales. Make BAD games for no sales.

  4. I’m going to have to go against all of you haters. I liked Space Giraffe. I didn’t buy it, sure. Just to go against you Deaconblade, I’m going to buy it. I’m sorry, you guys don’t know a good game when you see it. I may be lying out of my teeth when I say this, but more power to you Jeff. If he were Jade Raymond I’m sure you’d all buy it. 😉

  5. Not my fault Frogger is better.

  6. If he were Jade Raymond, I still would regret buying it. (Unless she is in the nyude somewhere in it :O)

  7. i agree 100% with geo

  8. I absolutely love Space Giraffe, but I can admit it’s not for every one. Minter has actually made another post since then that’s noticeably less annoyed.

    I bought it, I don’t regret it and I fire it up more often than I do any other arcade game I’ve had for a bit of time. I can understand people not understanding it, but I do not agree that it’s boring and it’s definitely not just about “moving left and right”, particularly about 15 levels in and on. Although I guess if someone hates it they’d not get that far lol.

    I just think many (not all) people are making really strong judgments about it based upon extremely limited time with the title. At the same time, I am not sure what Minter expects when it seems the very audio/visual design of the game is practically designed to push away like 99% of people.

  9. the demo shuold giv u a taste of levels further on if thats what is fun about the game. from wat ive played it really boring, so im not risking 10 buckms for somethin that might be good

  10. […] first game which I wanted to check out was Jeff Minter’s Space Giraffe especially after his meltdown on friday. How many copies has Space Giraffe sold since August? Only 19,137 copies, […]

  11. […] a couple of days it has been. It all started on Friday when Space Giraffe creator Jeff Minter let loose some steam over at his blog about how Space Giraffe has been selling pretty bad. Jeff Minter updated his blog […]

  12. crap game simple!

    got bored of the tral after 2 mins.

    do the developers tnk they can just churn anything out and ople will buy them?

    and theres so much available now./

    what i WOULD buy at say 200 points is some ld atari 2600 titles ported over to xbox live

    such as ADVENTURE haunted house etc.shouldnt be too hard to do.
    adventre multiplayer wud rock.

    cmo guys get your act together.

    also
    COSMIC ENCOUNTER – the board / card game that ispired magic the gathering would absolutely rock on xbox live.

  13. […] titles are 800 Microsoft Points. I’m in the mood for a trippy arcade game that is not called Space Giraffe. Oh yeah Jeff, I went […]

Leave a Reply

