Game Impressions: Assassin’s Creed is Above Average

I picked up Assassin’s Creed this past weekend and so far I’m about 5-6 hours in. The first thing that caught my eye was the game looks pretty damned good. Ubisoft put a lot of time into the setting of this ancient world and it looks very vivid and realistic. From Altair’s outfit to the sand which gently breezes, it all looks very nice.

The storyline(without spoiling it too much) is not what it seems. Think of something towards the lines of “The Matrix” movies. I do have a lot of complaints about the game.

Let’s talk about all the clipping I’ve seen in this game. At least ten times I’ve seen Altair climb over an object and either a leg or arm goes right through it. The controls which are easy at first glance are just a pain in the ass when your getting used to them. The climbing system which has you holding “A” and moving your left analog stick upward is simple at first but turns bothersome when Altair continues to climb. If you press “A” twice Altair does a jump off the front wall and leaps backwards leading to many deaths.

I know Assassin’s Creed is supposed to be “Next-gen” but why do I feel like it’s so archaic? I mean I’m doing the same thing over and over again. Head to the assassin’s bureau, investigate, murder, rinse and repeat. The fighting system is also a button mashing fiasco which has you pressing “X” to attack while pressing it again has Altair do a counter attack. To fight you must hold on to the lock button “LT” which sometimes by itself decides to unlock from your enemy leading to damaging hits.

I can’t simply look at the beautiful graphics and overlook some of the text book flaws which Assassin’s Creed contains. If I had to rate it right now from a scale of 1(Horrible) to 10(Excellent) it would be settling between a 6.5 and 7.0(Above Average).I’m hoping that the repetitiveness of the missions ceases as the story progresses.

-Michael “Thrills Killa” Pacheco-

4 Responses

  1. I personally feel that the gameplay can get old, (The lack of variety in missions) and that the game is short are problems. The AI is pretty much awful too, but other than that its pretty solid.

  2. That’s pretty much my main complaint with it: you wind up doing the same things over and over. This is made even worse by the fact that none of the cities are really that different from each other. It’s nice that some of the things are optional, but how many times am I going to pickpocket someone or climb up a tower to add to my map?

    Also, you don’t have to hold LT to keep lock on. It’s toggled. If you press it once, that’s it. Once that guy dies, it will automatically move on to whomever is closest. I agree the fighting is mostly button mashing too, although when you get more moves later on it gets slightly more enjoyable. Counters with RT can be nice since they finish guys off really fast.

  3. This is exactly what Im talking about…So many people say don’t listen to the reviews.

  4. If you think this game is short you are not playing it to its full potential. This game is with out a doubt a 9.5 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

