Space Giraffe demo impressions

Ahhh where has Space Giraffe been all my life? It’s colorful, vibrant, and it’s just fun to play. Jeff Minter might be crazy but it’s the type of crazy that more game developers need to learn. In Space Giraffe you control your ‘Space Giraffe” by using the left analog stick as you keep moving side to side while shooting enemies which are trying to get you. The enemies in this game vary from Grunts(No not the the halo ones) to Zappers. Another plus alongside that it’s fun is that Space Giraffe is only priced at 400 Microsoft Points.

My love for Geometry Wars is most likely resulting in why I’m enjoying Space Giraffe because I like me some colorful arcade shooters. I’m going to be downloading the full version of Space Giraffe sometime this week but I recommend you give it a try on Xbox Live Arcade. It does take a bit to get used to but if you love the colorful designs when you play music on your Xbox 360 I think you will like this as well.

Oh and it has freakin J Allard in it.

-Michael “Thrills Killa” Pacheco-

13 Responses

  1. Have you ever played this little game called Rez? You’d love it. Find the Dreamcast version, Dreamcasts can boot CD-Rs.

    Also, I’m now officially a traitor, I got a PS3… so now I have all current-gen consoles.

  2. What games did you get? Super Stardust HD is fun.

  3. I really cannot think of a single redeeming quality in this game, absolute garbage is my initial impression.

  4. I guess it’s a matter of taste. I saw OXM gave it a 2 so it depends on the person.

  5. Yup, definitely depends on the individual. You’re the first I’ve heard that enjoyed that mess, but hey, I thought Wreckless: Yakuza Missions was kinda cool…

  6. “Mess”. Tee Hee. šŸ™‚

  7. No games yet, downloading the linux ISO right now, mainly planned on using it for emulation/MAME =P

  8. Rez is/was the bomb. I still have it for the dreamcast. yes I said dreamcast. Space Giraffe is a fun game and yes it depends on a person who like to have fun. Gamers play games no matter what they are.

  9. When i played it i felt that all i was doing was just going back and forth holding down the trigger, it didnt feel like there was any strategy involved or anything but it might get deeper the further you get into the game, but from what i played on the demo i wasnt very impressed.

  10. I played it and my eyes hurt for an hour after.
    Roasted, agreed. Not too impressed for something that was hyped for awhile.

  11. You don’t just sweep back and forth across the playing field, I mean, sure, you CAN do that, but that’s not how you play the game right.

    I swear to God, haven’t any of you heard of Tempest? It’s the same game just revamped with puzzle elements thrown in.

    And by the way, when grunts get to the edge of the playing field, you can bump them off. That’s how you get your multiplier to go up. All of your opinions are void until you learn how to play the game right, that’s all I have to say.

  12. […] people know how I feel about Space Giraffe. I haven’t played it in about three weeks but it’s still a cool […]

  13. […] Minter, Creator of the very trippy XBLA game Space Giraffe(which I liked BTW ) has gone all apeshit on his blog. Jeff goes on a rant about how Frogger has outsold Space Giraffe […]

Leave a Reply

